A Mary Christmas (2013)

Catalog Number(s):

Cover of Mary J Blige Christmas CD


  1. Little Drummer Boy (4:10)
  2. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (4:39)
  3. My Favorite Things (3:52)
  4. This Christmas(3:21)
  5. The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire) ( 3:56)
  6. Rudolph, The Red-Nosed Reindeer" (2:30)
  7. When You Wish Upon a Star (featuring Barbra Streisand and Chris Botti)(3:44)
  8. Mary, Did You Know (3:50)
  9. Do You Hear What I Hear? (featuring Jessie J) (4:22)
  10. Petit Papa Noel (4:00)
  11. The First Noel (featuring The Clark Sisters) (4:26)
  12. Noche De Paz (Silent Night) (featuring Marc Anthony) (3:27)

About the Album/Duet

“When You Wish Upon A Star”

  • Arranged by David Foster
  • Orchestra Arranged by David Foster & William Ross
  • Piano: David Foster
  • Bass: Chuck Berghofer
  • Drums: Vinnie Colaiuta
  • Trumpet: Chris Botti
  • Synths, Programming & Sound Design by Jochem Van Der Saag
  • Barbra Streisand appears courtesy of Columbia Records
  • Barbra Streisand vocals recorded by David Reitzas

In December 2013, Mary J. Blige told Metro.co.uk that the duet with Barbra Streisand came about because: “My producer David Foster has a relationship with her and he asked me if I wanted to do a song with her, When You Wish Upon A Star, and I said absolutely, yes. Imagine if you’d said: ‘Nah, not into it.’ You’re not going to say no to Barbra Streisand! I remember being a fan of hers when she did her first r’n’b album with The Bee Gees, Guilty. I love her as an actress, too. She’s everything you want to be. When I met her, she was just so wonderful.”

Blige also told covermg.com:

“Barbra is one of my idols growing up but the sad thing was, we didn’t work together again in the studio on our song, because our schedules just don’t permit these things. The production used their magic to put our vocals together and it still came out great.”


[ top of page ]